Share Facebook Fan Page

Auto News

Pasindu Peiris grabs the spotlight at Fox Hill

Excitement and entertainment were never short when Exide sponsored Pasindu Peiris sat behind the wheel and won three races to clinch the best driver´s Challenge at the Fox Hill Super Cross 2011 concluded at Diyathalawa on Saturday. The Asian Motor Cross champion, Tomoya Zuzuk of Japan won the rider´s title in style.

Pasindu Peiris, who won the SLARDAR driver´s championship last year with some great performances behind the wheel, showed superb character and skill to grab his first win in the SL-GT cars up to 3500 cc event. Having conceded the pole position to Naren Kumar of India, Peiris chased the Indian wheel for wheel in his favourite Mitsubishi EVO IX. Despite Kumar leading the race for seven and a half laps, Peiris overtook the leader less than 300 metres to the chequered flag.  

He then decided on a Honda EG 6 for Group SL-H cars, up to 1600 cc event and once again Dilan Seneviratne held the pole position. The dusky and daring driver chased Dilan until the sixth lap and drove passed the leader in the penultimate lap to finish off the event as the winner. In the second race for SL-GT cars up to 3500 cc event, Peiris was given a close run by his Indian counterpart but the Sri Lankan lived up to the expectation of more than a 100,000 cheering fans at the Sri Lanka Military Academy race track.

Japanese rider, Tomoya Zuzuk, took the lead from the first round itself as Sri Lankan hero Gayan Sandaruwan and the two Indians, C. S. Santhosh and K. P. Aravind, were pushed behind him. Zuzuk showed great skill to give one lap lead to many of his competitors but Gayan, who managed to take fourth and fifth in the Group MX Motorcross bike events, was not humiliated by the Japanese. Santhosh and Aravind came second and third in both races.

However, the biggest cheer was for veteran motor cross rider, Ananda Wedisinghe, who was keen to take part in the 19th edition of the Fox Hill, irrespective of what the result could be for him. He is one man behind the popularity of Fox Hill Super Cross, with six consecutive rider´s titles from 1994 to 1999.

 Complete Results Sheet

● SLN Cars Ford Laser/Mazda 1300:

1. Upulwan Serasinghe

2. Lalin Kirinde

3. UC Perera


● Group SL-S Cars up to 1500 CC

1. Damith Abeyratne

2. Buddhika de Silva

3. Shantha Suraweera


● Group J- Racing Motorcycles up to 85 CC (Under-13)

1. Jacques Gunawardena

2. Jaden Gunawardena

3. Binula Kithalagama


● Group M Std/Mod Street Trails up to 125 CC

1. Lahiru Jeewantha

2. Nihal Wijeratne

3. Lucky Dharmabandu


● Group SL-A Mini 7 1000 CC

1. Donald Bultjensz

2. WMK Wickramasinghe

3. R Parameswaran


● SL-GT Cars up to 3500cc (Race 1)

1. Pasindu Peiris

2. Naren Kumar

3. Dinesh Deheragoda


● Group MX Motorbikes up to 85 CC_ U-16 (Race 1)

1. Shehan Adikari

2. Hashan Chamika

3. Evon Biyagee Gurusinghe


● Group SL-A Cars upto 1050 CC

1. Ajith Keerthi

2. Mahen Madugalle

3. Hafiz Cader


● SL-H Cars up to 1600cc (Race 1)

1. Pasindu Peiris

2. Dilan Seneviratne

3. Ashan Silva


● Motorcycles PW&QR up to 50 CC (Under-10)

1. Shavindu Shenal

2. Shaveen Wanaguru

3. DM Kalhara


● Group MX Motorbikes up to 85CC _Under-16 (Race 2)

1. Shehan Adikari

2. Hashan Kumara

3. Evon Biyagee Gurusinghe


● Group M Std/Mod Street trails up to 250 CC

1. Dinesh Anuruddha

2. Shiva Marappan

3. Lahiru Jeewantha


● Group MX Motocross bikes up to 125 CC

1. Shehan Adikari

2. Lahiru Jeewantha

3. Imal Manchanayake


● Group SM Super motard up to 250 CC

1. Sarath Kumarasinghe

2. Malavinge Uditha

3. Sajith Karunasekera


● Group T&J Diesel Turbo up to 5500 CC

1. Duminda Jayasinghe

2. Shantha Suraweera

3. Nishan Wasalathanthri


● Group SL-N Ford Laser/Mazda 1500 CC

1. Upulwan Serasinghe

2. Chaminda Weerasuriya

3. Kaushal Samarasinghe


● Group MX Motocross bikes up to 125cc (2T) and upto 250cc (4T) (Race 1)

1. Tomaya Suzuk

2. CS Santhosh

3. KP Aravind


● SL-H Cars up to 1600 CC (Race 2)

1. Ashan Silva

2. Rizvi Farouk

3. Janaka Dias


● Group M Super Motard upto 450 CC

1. Ramal Pathiratne

2. Suraj Perera

3. Malavige Uditha


● Group SL-N Nissan March up to 1000 CC

1. Rohitha Rajapaksa

2. Ushan de Silva

3. Ravi Bhagya


● Trucks & Jeeps Open:

1. Duminda Jayasinghe

2. Dinesh Senanayake

3. Cassim Wahab


● SL-GT Cars up to 3500 CC (Race 2)

1. Pasindu Peiris

2. Naren Kumar

3. Dinesh Deheragoda


● Group MX Motocross bikes up to 125cc (2T) and up to 250cc (4T) (Race 2):

1. Tomaya Suzuk

2. CS Santhosh

3. KP Aravind

Posted on Monday, April 18, 2011 @ 04:19:02 LKT


Advertise Here

Advertise Here

Advertise Here

The No1 Car Sales Site in Sri Lanka. Fastest way to Buy Sell Rent Your Vehicle or Find Any Spare Part Stores, Insurance Finance Services and Leasing Company, Banks in Sri Lanka. Largest Vehicle, AutoMobile Needs Directory Site for Sri Lankan Market. Cars Vans Motorcycles Buses Lorry for Your Hire or Transport needs. Easiest way to find details of Bank Loans, Leasing Facilities, Financial Companies and Insurance Policies in Sri Lankan Market. One Stop for your Auto Deals, Vehicle Needs. Nissan Toyota AMW Spare Parts shops in Lanka.